Question: What are the Divisions of the Old Testaments Books?

What are the Divisions of the Old Testaments Books?

Old Testaments Books  can be divided into: “law,” “history,” “poetry” and “prophecy.”

Old Testaments Books of the Law

The books of the Law are also called the Pentateuch of Moses which include Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. They mainly contain laws, ceremonies, statutes and commands. Genesis is about the history of ancient times.

Old Testaments Books of History

The books of History comprise 12 books: Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther.

Old Testaments Books of Poetry

There are five books of poetry: Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and Song of Songs.

Old Testaments Books of Prophets

The books of the prophets comprise 17 books: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.

Now we know the divisions of the Old Testaments Books, hope it will help you look at the old testaments books in a different light.

If you want to know more about the Holy Bible, feel free to request for one by providing your name and email address below…

old testaments books

By the way, we respect privacy and will never sell your e-mail address.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *